Location : Princes Bridge St Kilda Rd, Melbourne ( Near Flinders Street Station )
Princes Bridge is an iconic structure for People of Melbourne due to its position as an extension of Swanston Street connecting to St Kilda Road for crossing the Yarra River. The Bridge is named after, Prince of Wales, later King Edward VII. The area is often used for cultural and sporting events because of its proximity to Flinders Street Station and Federation Square.
The present bridge is the fourth on the site. The first bridge was built on 1840, five years after founding the city of Melbourne. The Bridge was built by a private company as a toll bridge. In 1844, a wooden trestle bridge was built across the river.
The first permanent bridge, built of sandstone and incorporating only a single 46m arch span was completed in 1851. This bridge was designed by David Lennox and was at the time the longest single span bridge in the world.
Princes Bridge in 1862
It became necessary to replace the bridge with a new one due to heavy traffic and flooding. John Grainger designed the bridge and was built by David Munro. Construction on the new bridge began in 1886 and it was opened on 4 October 1888, in time for the second International Exhibition to be held in Melbourne. The bridge’s squat bluestone half columns rest on piers supported by three iron girder arches creating an impressive image. Decorative spandrels feature the coat of arms of the municipal councils who contributed to the cost of construction. The bluestone used for the construction of the bridge was quarried from Footscray.