Home General Administration Mayor of Melbourne and The Melbourne City Council

Mayor of Melbourne and The Melbourne City Council

The Melbourne City Council comprises a lord mayor, deputy lord mayor and nine councillors.

Melbourne City Council is the local government body responsible for the municipality of Melbourne.The municipality of Melbourne includes metropolitan Melbourne’s innermost suburbs, including the central city. It is around 37 km² and shares its borders with seven other councils.

Lord Mayor is elected for a fixed four-year term of office and the elections take place on the fourth Saturday in October every four years.

On a weekday around 928,000 people use the Melbourne City. Melbourne hosts over a million international visitors yearly.


Lord Mayor Sally Anne Capp

Sally Anne Capp took charge as the 104th Mayor of Melbourne in 2018 after the unceremonious exit of disgraced Robert Doyle.

Sally Capp is the first woman directly elected as Lord Mayor of Melbourne. She was also the first woman to hold the post of Agent-General for Victoria in the UK, Europe and Israel.

After completing law and Commerce degrees at the University of Melbourne, Sally Cap began her career as a solicitor. She also worked for KPMG and ANZ. Capp also co-founded a funds management company which later listed as Australian Heritage Group in ASX. she was also the first woman on the board of Collingwood AFL Club in 2004. She was chief of operations for the Victorian Employers’ Chamber of Commerce and Industry and CEO of city lobby group the Committee for Melbourne.

In 2009, she was appointed as Victoria’s Agent-General in London. She was the first woman to be appointed to the role, established in the 1860s. She is married to Andrew Sutherland and has two sons.

Capp and her two siblings were born Rabaul in Papua New Guinea, when her father was employed there as an accountant and managed Coffee and banana plantations.

Web: https://www.sallycapp.com.au/


The rest of the team

Deputy Lord Mayor Arron Wood

Councillor Nicolas Frances Gilley

Councillor Philip Le Liu

Councillor Rohan Leppert

Councillor Kevin Louey

Councillor Cathy Oke

Councillor Beverley Pinder

Councillor Nicholas Reece

Councillor Susan Riley

Councillor Jackie Watts

Suburbs of Melbourne under the Melbourne City Council

Carlton, Carlton North (shared with the City of Yarra),  Docklands, East Melbourne, Flemington (shared with the City of Moonee Valley), Kensington, Melbourne, North Melbourne, Port Melbourne (shared with the City of Port Phillip), Parkville, Southbank, South Wharf (shared with the City of Port Phillip),  South Yarra (shared with the City of Stonnington), West Melbourne

Other information about the city

The estimated resident population of Melbourne is ​169,961. English is the most common language used in the city followed by Mandarin (20%). The 92 storey Eureka Tower, which stands at 300m and located at 3-7 Riverside Quay Southbank is the tallest building in the city. ​Mitre Tavern, at 5-9 Bank Place in the Melbourne CBD, built in 1837 is the oldest building in the city.



Home Forums Mayor of Melbourne and The Melbourne City Council – Discussion Forum

Viewing 3 reply threads
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.