The Ferguson Street Pier is located at the Ferguson street end of Nelson Place. The Pier offers a more picturesque view of the coast and City line compared to nearby Gem Pier. The pier is popular with recreational fishermen looking for snapper, trevally and flathead. On a fine weather day, apart from fishermen and sailors, there will be many visitors enjoying the scenic views. The vessels of Hobson Bay Yacht Club are moored here . The Pier is managed by Parks Victoria.
History of Ferguson Street Pier
The Pier was initially called Rosny Pier. In 1921 when the construction of the Pier was first proposed, there was a vague understanding of the Council and the harbour trust sharing the cost of construction equally. In 1923, a dispute arose between the Williamstown Council and the Harbour Trust over the jurisdiction of the Pier and who should bear the cost of construction of the Pier and its approaches. Harbour trust wanted the council to pay the costs of dredging but initially council maintained that all the Piers constructed in Hobson Bay and utilised by private companies have been at the sole cost of the Harbour Trust.
A compromise was reached by the Council and the trust to share the costs equally and work began on the new Pier in May 1924. The shoreward bluestone section of the pier was built by the Williamstown City Council, and the seaward end was built by the Melbourne Harbour Trust. The cost of the outer section was shared by both.
Double ended steam ferry Rosny berthed here from 1927 on its onward trip to Port Melbourne. Pier approaches were constructed in 1928 to enable buses to encircle the war memorial and leave passengers at the foot of the Pier.
Hobson Bay Yacht Club, which was established in 1888 was given permission to moor its vessels at the Pier in 1965.
Location: Intersection of Ferguson Street and Nelson Place, Williamstown, Victoria
Managed by Parks Victoria